Go To Search
Click to Home

Property Tax Payment Options
By Mail
Mail your Property Tax payment directly to us. Your payment must be postmarked on or before the due date or penalties will apply. Checks should be made payable to the Watonwan County Treasurer. If your tax payment is past due, please contact the Treasurer to determine the amount of penalty you must include with your payment. Our mailing address is:
Watonwan County Treasurer
710 Second Ave. S.
P.O. Box 518
St. James, MN 56081

Payment Drop Box
For your convenience, a payment drop box is located in the main parking lot of the courthouse by the front entrance sidewalk.

In person
Property taxes can be paid by check or cash at the treasurer's office, located at:
Watonwan County Courthouse
710 Second Ave. S.
P.O. Box 518
St. James, MN 56081.

Office Hours
The office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 5:00 pm. For further information about paying property taxes in person, please call the treasurer’s office at (507) 375-1213.

Your taxes may be included in your mortgage payment. Your lending institution may be escrowing your taxes for you. This means that you are paying a portion of your property tax in every mortgage payment you make to them. Your tax money is being kept in a special escrow account. The escrow agent at your mortgage company is responsible for paying your property taxes by the due date. If you aren't certain if your property taxes are escrowed, contact your mortgage company or lending institution.