Driver's Licenses

Effective Oct 1, 2018, All applicants/Applications need to be in the office by 4 p.m. due to the new FASTDS Driver License System. When renewing/applying, you must request you want Real ID/Enhanced ID. They both require additional documents and $15 fee for Enhanced. Your patience in the transition to the new system is much appreciated. Thank you.


Watonwan County Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) / Driver's License Center highly encourages residents to renew vehicle registrations at your local office. This adds revenue to the county and is made easy by utilizing one of the three methods below:

  • Coming into the office at the Watonwan County Courthouse with your renewal notice.
  • Mailing the renewal notice to:
    Watonwan County, License Center
    P.O. Box 518
    St. James, MN 56081
  • Using the handy payment drop box located in the main parking lot of the Courthouse next to the garage. We will mail the renewals back to you.

New insurance requirement

Effective January 1, 2016 insurance information must be provided at the time of registration renewal, title transfer, or application for new Minnesota title/registration. Information needed is Company, Policy number, Expiration Month, Day and Year.

Services Offered in Watonwan County

  • All-Terrain Vehicle registration
  • Driver's license renewals
  • Driver's license duplicates
  • Driver's license instruction permits
  • Identification cards (state)
  • Motor vehicle registration from out-of-state
  • Motor vehicle registration renewal
  • Motor vehicle transfer of title
  • Motor vehicle transactions - other
  • Snowmobile registration
  • Watercraft registration

Certified copies of birth and death certificates may also be obtained here.

  1. Anna Curry

  2. Jessica Suess

  3. Danielle Sperl

  4. License Center

    Physical Address
    710 Second Ave S
    St. James, MN 56081

    Mailing Address
    P.O. Box 518
    St. James, MN 56081

    Phone: 507-375-1219
    Fax: 507-375-2532

    Monday through Friday 
    8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.